Bildmarke: Future Food Forum

The Future of Global Nutrition –
The End of Hunger?

No human right is violated as frequently as the right to food. That over 800 million children, women and men worldwide still do not have enough to eat is one of the greatest scandals of our time. And the population of the world will continue to grow – from 7.3 billion at the present time to up to ten billion by 2050. This poses enormous challenges for agriculture, industry and all of society.

K+S Aktiengesellschaft wants to promote the exchange of ideas and strategies for combatting hunger and the long-term securing of global nutrition. That is why every two years, the international commodities company organizes, in the run-up to World Food Day (October 16), a FUTURE FOOD FORUM, which provides a platform for the most urgent questions pertaining to the future in the context of population growth and global nutrition. The aim is to promote active dialogue between central, national and international stakeholders drawn from politics, science and NGOs.

The next FUTURE FOOD FORUM will take place on October 13, 2016, at the AXICA congress and conference center in Berlin. Experts from a number of countries and various continents will discuss issues such as how the battle against hunger can be waged more efficiently, how international development cooperation can be improved or what contribution can be made by local agriculture and the food industry with modern production methods and functioning distribution channels at the local level.

Bildmarke: Future Food Forum

Zukunft der Welternährung –
Ende des Hungers?

Kein Menschenrecht wird so häufig verletzt wie das Recht auf Nahrung. Dass weltweit noch immer mehr als 800 Millionen Kinder, Frauen und Männer nicht genug zu essen haben, ist einer der größten Skandale unserer Zeit. Und die Weltbevölkerung wird weiter wachsen – von derzeit 7,3 Milliarden auf bis zu zehn Milliarden im Jahr 2050. Dies stellt die globale Landwirtschaft, die Industrie und die gesamte Gesellschaft vor gewaltige Herausforderungen.

Die K+S Aktiengesellschaft möchte den Austausch von Ideen und Strategien zur Bekämpfung des Hungers und zur langfristigen Sicherung der Welternährung fördern. Das internationale Rohstoffunternehmen veranstaltet deshalb alle zwei Jahre im Vorfeld des Welternährungstages (16. Oktober) ein FUTURE FOOD FORUM, das den dringlichsten Zukunftsfragen im Kontext von Bevölkerungswachstum und Welternährung eine Plattform gibt. Das Ziel ist ein aktiver Dialog mit zentralen nationalen wie internationalen Stakeholdern aus Politik, Wissenschaft und NGOs.

Das nächste FUTURE FOOD FORUM findet am 13. Oktober 2016 im AXICA Kongress- und Tagungszentrum Berlin statt. Dabei diskutieren Experten aus mehreren Ländern und von verschiedenen Kontinenten unter anderem, wie der Kampf gegen den Hunger noch effizienter geführt werden kann, wie die internationale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zu verbessern ist oder welchen Beitrag die lokale Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft mit modernen Produktionsmethoden und funktionierenden Distributionskanälen vor Ort leisten muss.